Studying at the Masterstudio Design



The Masterstudio Design at the Institute Contemporary Design Practices (ICDP) is composed of three studios: Masterstudio Industrial Design, Masterstudio Scenography, Masterstudio Fashion Design. Each studio has a disciplinary focus. In addition, the research discourse of the ICDP focuses on Digital Integration, Design Cultures and Circular Design and are reflected and communicated multidimensionally.


The basis of our applied research and project work is the design term "Advanced Design". Instead of the current economic practice of maximisation, we adopt the role of the extrapreneur in teaching and design, which stands for collaboration and systemic action: Current issues on global crises, climate change and social inequality are discussed and further developed. Sustainability and ecology, inclusion and technology, interaction and materiality are the fields in which the role of design is questioned and new visions for human coexistence and economic activity are defined.


The Masterstudio Design offers in-depth training in professional, future-oriented design practice and applied research. Relevant research questions are identified and defined, appropriate and complex design processes are conceived, projects are developed and implemented.


Communication, project management, cross-disciplinary and research-oriented teamwork are components of the training.



Our Master studios:

Studieren am Masterstudio Design



Das Masterstudio Design am Institut Contemporary Design Practices (ICDP) setzt sich aus drei Studios zusammen: Masterstudio Industrial Design, Masterstudio Scenography, Masterstudio Fashion Design. Jedes Studio ist disziplinär ausgerichtet. Darüber hinaus werden die Diskurse zu den Forschungschwerpunkten Digital Integration, Design Cultures und Circular Design des ICDP multidimensional reflektiert und vermittelt.


Basis unserer angewandten Forschungs- und Projektarbeit ist der Designbegriff “Advanced Design”. Statt der gegenwärtigen ökonomischen Praxis der Maximierung, nehmen wir in Lehre und Gestaltung die Rolle der Extrapreneur:in ein, die für Kollaboration und systemisches Handeln steht: Aktuelle Fragestellungen zu den globalen Krisen, zu Klimaveränderung und zu sozialer Ungleichheit werden diskutiert und weiterentwickelt. Nachhaltigkeit und Ökologie, Inklusion und Technologie, Interaktion und Materialität sind die Felder, in denen die Rolle von Design hinterfragt und neue Visionen für menschliches Zusammenleben und Wirtschaften definiert werden.


Das Masterstudio Design bietet eine vertiefte Ausbildung in professioneller, zukunftsorientierter Designpraxis und angewandter Forschung. Relevante Forschungsfragen werden erkannt und definiert, dazu passende und komplexe Designprozesse konzipiert, Projekte entwickelt und umgesetzt.


Kommunikation, Projektmanagement, disziplinübergreifende und forschungsorientierte Teamarbeit sind Bestandteile der Ausbildung.