Masterstudio Experimental Design



Masterstudio Experimental Design

Master thesis Robert Zumkeller

Semester project Emily Wren

Master thesis Alexandra Auer

The Masterstudio Experimental Design critically examines contemporary ways of living and aims at designing possible futures. A research-based engagement with current social and environmental challenges such as climate change, social inequality, migration, demographic change, and technological transformations of our live worlds is fundamental to the students' work. We translate a norm-critical, post-disciplinary and post-anthropocentric stance into experimental design practice.


Experimental Design means developing an autonomous, research-driven design practice, which has a direct impact on different areas of social life. A post-disciplinary approach aids in identifying and exploring new fields of design. The program’s tutors, researchers from HyperWerk and the Critical Media Lab, and external experts accompany and inform the students’ practice-led project work.


As a member of the Masterstudio Experimental Design, you will design collective experiments and develop exemplary scenarios, speculative models, and radical proposals for societies and worlds in transition.


→ More information on the page of the Critical Media Lab



Studio director:




Overview Studios

Masterstudio Experimental Design



Masterstudio Experimental Design

Masterthesis Robert Zumkeller, Digital Resilience

Semesterprojekt Emily Wren

Masterthesis Alexandra Auer, Radical Certainty

Im Masterstudio Experimentelles Design werden aktuelle und zukünftige Lebenswelten kritisch hinterfragt und neu entworfen. Wir untersuchen Prozesse und übersetzen eine normkritische, post-disziplinäre und post-anthropozentrische Haltung in eine experimentelle Gestaltungspraxis. Die forschende Auseinandersetzung mit aktuellen gesellschaftlichen und ökologischen Herausforderungen wie dem Klimawandel, sozialer Ungleichheit, dem demografischen Wandel und technologischen Transformationen unserer Lebenswelten ist grundlegend für die Arbeit der Studierenden.


Im Sinne eines post-disziplinären Designs werden neue Bereiche für gestalterisches Handeln im Austausch mit externen Expert:innen erschlossen. Experimentelles Design heisst in diesem Kontext, eine eigene, gestalterisch-forschende Praxis zu entwickeln, die in unterschiedlichen Bereichen des gesellschaftlichen Lebens und Arbeitens von unmittelbarer Relevanz ist. Lehrende und Forschende aus HyperWerk und Critical Media Lab begleiten und informieren die praxisgeleitete Projektarbeit der Studierenden.


Als Mitglied des Masterstudio Experimentelles Design wirst du kollektive Experimente entwerfen und exemplarische Szenarien, spekulative Modelle und radikale Vorschläge für Gesellschaften und Welten im Wandel entwickeln.


→ Weitere Informationen auf der Seite vom Critical Media Lab



Studio Leitung




Übersicht Studios