Design driven learning for the 21st century

,

2021

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis


For the further education of teachers at vocational schools, new possibilities for the design of learning environments are elaborated from the perspective of integrated design. These concepts, through their difference, allow new learning experiences and the practice of competencies that will become increasingly important in the future. These include - among others - openness, critical thinking, creativity, and the design-specific ability to develop alternative solutions. In this way, the Master-Thesis makes a practice-relevant contribution to the transfer of knowledge from the methodological context of design to an area in which teaching has so far been largely traditional. The findings will be integrated at a later stage into the pedagogical-didactic concepts of a vocational school at a later date, which - like all other vocational schools - is currently undergoing a transformation process. In addition to digitalization, the learning objectives and learning settings of all professions are being reoriented towards competences.

The open-ended, solution-oriented, experimental and iterative approach makes the design process an explorative and competence-oriented learning path that provides 'condensed' learning. Each step of the process (problem, analysis, synthesis with the definition of the target space, generation of ideas, prototypes and test phase) offers focussed practice opportunities for individual competences. As a whole, fundamental experiences are also important in this process, such as how to work from the goal and that the world can be shaped and one can be effective in it as a shaper.

About Beatrice

Beatrice was born and raised in Switzerland, but has spent a fair amount of years abroad.


She studied Edu­cation, History and Cultural An­thropology. After many years of working in the field of edu­cation, Beatrice came to the Masterstudio to broaden and deepen her skills, in order to approach systemic problems in public contexts.

Final Thought:

The values and the approach of the Masterstudio create a unique spirit among the learning community.

Mentors:

Dr. Ralf Michel, Prof. Heinz Wagner

, Studio Integrative Design

Alexandra Stein

, Senior project leader EHB

Design-orientiertes Lernen für das 21. Jahrhundert

,

2021

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis


Für die Weiterbildung von Lehrpersonen an Berufsfachschulen werden aus der Perspektive integrierten Designs neue Möglichkeiten zur Gestaltung von Lernumgebungen ausgearbeitet. Diese Konzepte lassen durch ihre Andersartigkeit neue Lernerfahrungen und das Üben von Kompetenzen, die in Zukunft immer wichtiger werden, zu. Dazu zählen u.a. Offenheit, kritisches Denken, Kreativität und die design-spezifische Fähigkeit alternative Lösungen zu entwickeln. Damit leistet diese Masterthesis einen praxisrelevanten Beitrag der Wissensvermittlung aus dem Methodenkontext des Designs in einen Bereich, in dem bislang noch weitgehend traditionell unterrichtet wird. Die Erkenntnisse werden zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt in die pädagogisch-didaktischen Konzepte einer Berufsfachschule integriert, die - wie alle anderen Berufsfachschulen - derzeit in einem Transformationsprozess steht. Neben der Digitalisierung werden neu die Lernziele und Lernsettings aller Berufe kompetenzorientiert ausgerichtet.

Die ergebnisoffene, lösungsorientierte, experimentelle und iterative Herangehensweise machen den Designprozess zu einem forschenden und kompetenzorientierten Lernweg, der gleichsam ein ‘verdichtetes’ Lernen bereithält. Jeder Prozessschritt (Problem, Analyse, Synthese mit Definition des Zielraumes, Ideengenerierung, Prototypen und Testphase) bietet schwerpunktmässige Übungsmöglichkeiten für einzelne Kompetenzen. Als Ganzes sind in diesem Prozess auch grundlegende Erfahrungen wichtig, wie vom Ziel her zu arbeiten und dass die Welt gestaltbar ist und man darin als Gestaltende wirksam sein kann.

Über Beatrice

Beatrice ist in der Schweiz geboren und aufgewachsen, doch lebte sie zwischendurch immer wieder für einige Jahre im Ausland.


Sie studierte Pädagogik, Geschichte und Kulturanthropologie und arbeitet seit vielen Jahren im Bildungsbereich. Dann entschied sich Beatrice dafür, wieder zu studieren und kam zum Masterstudio Design. Hier wollte sie lernen, ihre Fähigkeiten zu erweitern und zu vertiefen, um systemische Probleme im öffentlichen Kontext anzugehen.

Schlusssatz:

Die Werte und der Ansatz des Masterstudios schaffen eine einmalige Lernatmosphäre.

Mentorat:

Dr. Ralf Michel, Prof. Heinz Wagner

, Studio Integrative Design

Alexandra Stein

, Senior Projektverantwortliche EHB