Édition Tinnef

,

2021

#StudioExperimentalDesign #Master-Thesis


People have always collected. We collect perfume bottles, autographs, miniature cranes and old door wedges. Édition Tinnef gives the phenomenon of private collecting (the «collecting for collecting's sake») a stage. The personal relationship of the collector's personal relationship to his/her collection is staged on a digital platform and made publicly accessible. The work is intended to raise questions about the relationship between people and objects and to shed light on the diversity of motivations for collecting.

The field of research is deliberately limited to everyday collections, which are not created for economic reasons, but out of a desire to collect. The platform is also dedicated to the silent experts behind these diverse collections.

The presentation of the individual collections is intended to focus on the collector's point of view in order to explore the fascination within their field of collection in a practical work with their cooperation. Through the examination and translation into the Digital Space, possibilities, but also limits, which the digital experience brings with it, are to be examined and tested.

In the future, Édition Tinnef will create a digital repository that can also be used as a research tool to understand socio-cultural and aesthetic values through everyday collections.

Mentors:

Prof. Dr. Bettina Köhler

, Studio Fashion Design

Dr. Ralf Michel

, Studio Integrative Design

Édition Tinnef

,

2021

#StudioExperimentalDesign #Master-Thesis


Gesammelt wurde schon immer. Wir sammeln Parfumflakons, Autogramme, Miniaturkräne und alte Türkeile. Édition Tinnef gibt dem Phänomen der privaten Sammlung (dem «Sammeln um des Sammelns Willen») eine Bühne. Die persönliche Beziehung des Sammelnden zu seiner/ihrer Sammlung wird auf einer digitalen Plattform inszeniert und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht. Die Arbeit soll Fragen zur Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Objekt anstossen, sowie die Vielfalt der Sammlungsmotivationen beleuchten.

Das Feld der Untersuchung begrenzt sich bewusst auf alltägliche Sammlungen, welche nicht aus ökonomischen Gründen angelegt werden, sondern aus der Lust am Sammeln entstanden sind. Dabei widmet sich die Plattform auch den stillen Expert*innen, welche hinter den vielfältigen Sammlungen stehen.

Die Inszenierung der einzelnen Fundi soll bewusst den Blickwinkel des Sammelnden ins Zentrum setzen, um mit deren Zusammenarbeit die Faszination innerhalb ihres Sammlungsgebiets in einer praktischen Arbeit zu untersuchen. Durch die Auseinandersetzung und Übersetzung in den digitalen Raum, sollen Möglichkeiten, aber auch Grenzen, welche die digitale Erfahrung mit sich bringt, untersucht und ausgetestet werden.

Über Édition Tinnef soll künftig ein digitaler Fundus entstehen, der auch als Recherchetool genutzt werden kann, um so soziokulturelle und ästhetische Werte, anhand alltäglicher Sammlungen, nachvollziehen zu können.

Mentorat:

Prof. Dr. Bettina Köhler

, Studio Fashion Design

Dr. Ralf Michel

, Studio Integrative Design