Horror Generator

,

2022

#StudioScenography #Master-Thesis


We live in a compound with a global data network. The digital has become part of humanity. But what happens when it becomes independent? Singularity is coming. People become dumbed down. The ideal cat video is already there before we even feel our bad mood brewing.

Oliver's project takes the predictive mechanism of the data-based algorithms of social networks and integrates it into a scenographic design of a box. No internet and no digital device can provide access to the world inside. The newly created parallel world is called: Horror Generator.

People enter the generator and the world inside. The construction is reminiscent of brutalism, of a mixture of cyborg and free church. The human being appearing small next to it. An interface is located in a large skull in the middle of the box, which wears a neck brace like a juggler. Visitors have to answer questions in quick succession, so the underlying AI learns chains of associations. The AI grows, constantly changes its behaviour, adapts to the visitors. A bubble is created, holding a copy of the world. A new branch of our reality.

Mentors:

Andreas Wenger

,

Ruth Scheel

,

Martina Ehleiter

,

Horror Generator

,

2022

#StudioScenography #Master-Thesis


Wir leben in einem Verbund mit einem globalen Daten-Netzwerk. Das Digitale ist Teil der Menschheit. Doch was passiert, wenn es selbständig wird? Die Singularität kommt. Menschen verdummen. Das ideale Katzenvideo ist schon da, bevor wir wissen, dass sich schlechte Laune anbahnt.

Olivers Projekt greift den Vorhersage-Mechanismus der datenbasierten Algorithmen Sozialer Netzwerke auf und integriert ihn im szenografischen Entwurf einer Box. Kein Internet und kein digitales Gerät kann Zugang zu der Welt dort drin ermöglichen. Die neu geschaffene Parallelwelt heisst: Horror Generator.

Menschen begeben sich in den Generator und in die Welt darin. Die Konstruktion erinnert an Brutalismus, an eine Mischung aus Cyborg und Freikirche. Der Mensch, klein daneben. Ein Interface befindet sich im großen Schädel inmitten der Box, der wie ein Gaukler eine Halskrause trägt. In schneller Abfolge müssen Besucher:innen Fragen beantworten, so lernt die zugrunde liegende KI Assoziationsketten kennen. Die KI wächst, ändert stetig das Verhalten, passt sich an die Besucher:innen an. Es entsteht eine Blase, in der sich eine Kopie der Welt befindet. Ein neuer «Ast» unserer Realität.

Mentorat:

Andreas Wenger

,

Ruth Scheel

,

Martina Ehleiter

,