I am not there

,

2021

The challenges in implementing 3D Design in fashion practice – a prospective study with knitwear

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis


«I am not there» explores the implementation of 3D tools in the fashion sampling flow as a possible avenue and thus proposes the possibility of a sustainable supply chain. The project focuses on knitwear and its inherent technological peculiarities as a source material. In the constant alternation of analogue and digital prototyping, an independent collection is created. In addition, the challenges of integrating digital technology in textile and fashion design are systematically examined in the process.

Focusing on crucial parts of the workflow, like the creation of rendered textiles and the collaboration with a producer, this work is structured around a set of practical experiments. This work illustrates - in juxtaposition with the traditional sampling process - the foreseen and previously unforeseen challenges in implementing 3D design in fashion; concluding that there are still several stumbling blocks on the way to full scalability.

About Annika

Annika has a Bachelor of Arts in Fashion Design from the UdK Berlin. After her study she worked for various international brands as a knit­ wear designer. She chose to continue at the Masterstudio Design since she wanted to explore the potential of 3D De­sign in fashion without being restrained by commercial requirements. Besides her stu­dies Annika dedicates a lot of time to ceramics and runs a small ceramics studio into Basel.

Final Thought:

Integrative Design offers the freedom to explore.

Mentors:

Prof. Dr. Sabine Fischer

, Studio Integrative Design

Jana Patz

, weißensee kunsthochschule berlin

I am not there

,

2021

Die Herausforderungen bei der Implementierung von 3D-Design in der Modepraxis - eine prospektive Studie mit Strickwaren

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis


«I am not there» erforscht die Implementierung von 3D Werkzeugen in den Mode-Musterungsprozess als möglichen Weg und schlägt damit die Möglichkeit einer nachhaltigen Lieferkette vor. Das Projekte fokussiert auf Strickwaren und deren inhärenten technologischen Eigenheiten als Ausgangsmaterial. Im steten Wechsel von analogem und digitalem Prototyping entsteht eine eigenständige Kollektion. Zudem werden im Prozess die Herausforderungen der Integration digitaler Technologie im Textil- und Modedesign systematisch untersucht.

Die Arbeit konzentriert sich auf entscheidende Teile des Arbeitsablaufs, wie die Erstellung von digitalen Textilien und die Zusammenarbeit mit einem Produzenten und ist um eine Reihe von praktischen Experimenten herum aufgebaut. Diese Arbeit veranschaulicht - in Gegenüberstellung mit dem traditionellen Sampling-Prozess - die vorhergesehenen und bisher unvorhergesehenen Herausforderungen bei der Implementierung von 3D-Design in der Mode; mit der Schlussfolgerung, dass es noch einige Stolpersteine auf dem Weg zur vollen Skalierbarkeit gibt.

Über Annika

Annika hat einen Bachelor of Arts in Modedesign von der UdK Berlin. Nach ihrem Studium hat sie als Strickdesignerin für verschiedene inter- nationale Firmen gearbeitet. Sie entschied sich für das Master- studio Design, da sie das Potenzial von 3D-Design in der Mode erforschen wollte, ohne sich von kommerziellen Anforderungen einschränken zu lassen. Neben ihrem Studium widmet Annika der Keramik viel Zeit und betreibt ein kleines Keramikstudio in Basel.

Schlusswort:

Integratives Design bietet einem die Freiheit zu erkunden und zu erforschen.

Mentorat:

Prof. Dr. Sabine Fischer

, Studio Integrative Design

Jana Patz

, weißensee kunsthochschule berlin