Radical Certainty

,

2021

#StudioExperimentalDesign #Master-Thesis


The data market claims human experiences as an exploitable raw material. Algorithms calculate an accurate profile of who we are and predict who we will become. The prediction economy has interfered with our lives far beyond the digital. Striving for full certainty the aim is no longer to only predict but to control our behaviour.

Alexandra Auer examines in her master-thesis the mechanisms behind the prediction economy and presents measures to reimpose democratic mechanisms.

With an increasing amount of digital resources and a steadily growing user base, big internet companies are becoming a serious threat to self-authorship and the sovereignty of governments. Personal life, economic processes and infrastructures are depended on the offered services; a development which cannot be undone.


As the growing power in the hands of the internet companies is becoming a political reality, with the most prominent example of the US Presidential election 2016, the question arises how we can make our voices heard and defend ourselves against their increasing power?


In democratic states, the right to demonstrate is guaranteed. Demonstrating is an essential instrument to establish a direct publicity between citizen and politics. With this instrument missing in the reign of internet companies, individuals have no means to hold internet companies accountable.


The thesis Radical Certainty aims to improve users’ literacy and understanding of the prediction economy. To advocate for privacy, authorship and protection a platform has been created, which fosters protest in the digital and physical sphere. Through generative art, the digital protest is doubled into the material world and therefore into the political discourse: holding the prediction economy accountable in the place where it all started – a garage.

Mentors:

Dr. Ralf Michel

, Studio Integrative Design

Guillaume Massol

, Designer

Radical Certainty (Radikale Gewissheit)

,

2021

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis


Der Datenmarkt beansprucht menschliche Erfahrungen als verwertbares Rohmaterial. Algorithmen berechnen ein genaues Profil davon, wer wir sind und sagen voraus, wer wir sein werden. Die Ökonomie des Vorhersagens nimmt weit über das Digitale hinaus auf unser Leben Einfluss. Ihr Streben nach vollständiger Gewissheit zielt nun nicht mehr allein auf die Vorhersage, sondern auf die Kontrolle unseres Verhaltens.

In ihrer Masterarbeit untersucht Alexandra Auer die Mechanismen hinter der Prediction Economy (Ökonomie des Vorhersagens) und präsentiert Massnahmen, um demokratische Mechanismen einzuführen.

Mit einer zunehmenden Menge an digitalen Ressourcen und einer stetig wachsenden Nutzerbasis werden grosse Internetunternehmen zu einer ernsthaften Bedrohung für die Selbstbestimmung und die Souveränität von Regierungen. Persönliches Leben, wirtschaftliche Prozesse und Infrastrukturen sind von den angebotenen Diensten abhängig; eine Entwicklung, die nicht rückgängig gemacht werden kann.


Da die wachsende Macht in den Händen der Internetkonzerne zu einer politischen Realität wird, mit dem prominentesten Beispiel der US-Präsidentschaftswahl 2016, stellt sich die Frage, wie wir uns Gehör verschaffen und uns gegen ihre zunehmende Macht wehren können?


In demokratischen Staaten ist das Recht zu demonstrieren garantiert. Demonstrieren ist ein wesentliches Instrument, um eine direkte Öffentlichkeit zwischen Bürger und Politik herzustellen. Da dieses Instrument in der Herrschaft der Internetkonzerne fehlt, hat der Einzelne keine Möglichkeit, die Internetkonzerne zur Verantwortung zu ziehen.


Die Arbeit Radical Certainty zielt darauf ab, das Wissen und das Verständnis der Nutzer für die Prediction Economy zu verbessern. Um für Privatsphäre, Autorenschaft und Schutz einzutreten, wurde eine Plattform geschaffen, die den Protest in der digitalen und physischen Sphäre fördert. Durch generative Kunst wird der digitale Protest in die materielle Welt und damit in den politischen Diskurs verdoppelt: die Vorhersageökonomie an dem Ort zur Rechenschaft zu ziehen, an dem alles begann - einer Garage.

Mentorat:

Dr. Ralf Michel

, Studio Integrative Design

Guillaume Massol

, Designer