VR TRIBES

,

2020

A group dynamic VR experience

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis


Virtual reality applications and games are often experienced alone and isolated. People who are not in VR are only spectators. How can this be changed? Does the VR user really have to be isolated in order to achieve a high degree of immersion?


This master thesis investigates new group dynamic approaches in the field of Virtual Reality Gaming by means of a specially created game. VR TRIBES connects different gaming areas in an asymmetrical gameplay.

«Free the isolated VR User from his lonely experience and connect him with the outside world.»

VR games isolate the player from the outside world. VR TRIBES, on the other hand, is a VR multiplayer game that promotes communication and fun for all participants creating an exciting group dynamic experience. The VR player experiences a game in a kind of digital diorama, he can look over the whole game. He has to stand up to the three non VR players.

The three outside players participate in the game with their own controllers and screens, just like usual «Third Person» games.

The game is limited to 10-12 minutes to keep the VR player's efforts within limits hold.


The game is divided into sections, each section offers new tasks. In the first section the outside players have to destroy the magic crystals of the overpowering being. The VR player in turn is trying to prevent the TRIBE players with meteor-like projectiles from doing so. In the second stage both parties receive new and stronger weapons, the principle remains the same.

The biggest challenge awaits the players in the third and final section. The outside TRIBE players are transformed into one big figure and each player controls one part of this figure. One player runs, another moves his upper body and can dodge attacks or initiate them himself, the third operates the melee weapon and the shield for defense. The VR player, on the other hand, now has to face an opponent at eye level and defeat him in competition.

There are many people who are still skeptical about VR technology, bad experiences or VR simply cannot tolerate. Instead of just watching, interested people can now actively participate. Either as an outside "TRIBE player" or as the superhuman being from space.


The gameplay controls the players in such a way that they communicate in order to play together against each other and all participants experience a group dynamic gaming experience.

VR-TRIBES (Teaser & Master-Thesis) by Florian Denning

Mentors:

Prof. Heinz Wagner

, Studio Integrative Design​

Waldemar Schmidt

,

VR TRIBES

,

2020

Eine gruppendynamische VR Erfahrung

#StudioIntegrativeDesign #Master-Thesis


Virtual Reality Anwendungen und Spiele werden häufig alleine und isoliert erlebt. Aussenstehende Personen sind nur Zuschauer. Wie lässt sich das ändern? Muss der Virtual Reality Benutzer wirklich abgeschottet sein, damit ein hoher Grad an Immersion erreicht werden kann?


Diese Master Thesis untersucht anhand eines eigens erstellten Spiels neue gruppendynamische Ansätze im Bereich Virtual Reality Gaming. VR TRIBES verbindet in einem asymmetrischen Gameplay verschiedene Gaming Bereiche.

«Free the isolated VR User from his lonely experience and connect him with the outside world.»

VR Spiele isolieren den Spieler von der Außenwelt. VR TRIBES hingegen ist ein VR Multiplayer Spiel, welches die Kommunikation und den Spaß aller Beteiligten fördert und ein spannendes, gruppendynamisches Erlebnis darstellt. Der VR Spieler erlebt ein Spiel in einer Art digitalem Diorama, er kann über das ganze Spielgeschehen blicken. Er muss sich gegen die drei „nicht VR“ Spielenden behaupten.

Die drei außenstehenden Spielenden nehmen mit ihren eigenen Controllern und Bildschirmen an dem Spiel teil, wie übliche «Third Person» Spiele.

Das Spiel ist auf 10-12 Minuten begrenzt, um die Anstrengungen des VR Spielers in Grenzen zu halten.


Das Spiel ist in Abschnitte unterteilt, jeder Abschnitt bietet neue Aufgaben. Im ersten Abschnitt müssen die außenstehenden Spieler die magischen Kristalle des übermächtigen Wesens zerstören. Der VR Spieler wiederum ist darum bemüht, die TRIBE Spieler mit Meteor ähnlichen Wurfgeschossen daran zu hindern. Im zweiten Abschnitt erhalten beide Parteien neue und stärkere Waffen, das Prinzip bleibt gleich.

Die grösste Herausforderung erwartet die Spielenden im dritten und letzten Abschnitt. Die außenstehenden TRIBE Spielenden transformieren sich nun in eine große Spielfigur und jeder steuert einen Part dieser Figur. Ein Spielender läuft, ein anderer bewegt den Oberkörper und kann Angriffen ausweichen oder selber initiieren, der dritte bedient die Nahkampfwaffe und das Schild zur Verteidigung. Der VR Spielende hingegen muss sich nun mit einem Widersacher auf Augenhöhe auseinandersetzen und diesen im Wettkampf besiegen.

Es gibt viele Menschen, die der VR Technik noch skeptisch gegenüberstehen, schlechte Erfahrungen erlebten oder VR einfach nicht vertragen. Anstatt einfach nur zuzuschauen, können Interessierte nun aktiv mitspielen. Entweder als außenstehender TRIBE Spieler oder als das übermenschliche Wesen aus dem All.


Das Gameplay steuert die Spieler so, dass sie kommunizieren um zusammen gegeneinander zu spielen und alle Beteiligten eine gruppendynamische Gaming Erfahrung erleben.

VR-TRIBES (Teaser & Master-Thesis) by Florian Denning

Mentorat:

Prof. Heinz Wagner

, Studio Integrative Design​

Waldemar Schmidt

,