Integrative Design - - Essays and Projects on Design Research

Hydrofix


A potentially open, design-centric approach characterizes the cooperation project with the working title "Hydrofix". In cooperation with the Fraunhofer IWU Dresden, basics for a special form of high-pressure internal forming (HDU) were developed. At the same time, design-driven cooperation and development as well as the resulting new cultural contexts in production and use itself are the subject of long-term research efforts.


Blanks from flat sheets are joined and expanded by pressure introduction. This low-cost process for the production of tin hollow bodies offers a variety of applications in the context of decentralized manufacturing and digital production. In this project, first technological foundations for a principle of unfoldable, interlocking internal stiffening were developed. Experimental shape development and modeling with a variety of materials and media proved to be expedient to spread a framing for the subsequent application of technical working methods and innovation methods (including numerical simulation). In addition, based on this design-driven development, a group of actors (companies, research institutions, private individuals) could be brought together to develop follow-up projects on several topic, including: Design and technical foundations for digital production, the definition of standards and structural classes for different mechanical requirements as well as development and change of competencies and roles of stakeholders (development, production, use / consumption). This kind of open design has an unique characteristic: the beginning and in early phases of the innovation process is driven by design, in specially, a material prototype that embodys an aesthetical aproach to technical questions.


This qualitative development step can expand and open up the approach of the involved actors - on a spatial, personal, temporal and methodological level. The expandability and viability developed from the outset in the draft also creates new purposes and structures of meaning. This procedure is inherent in the cognitive experiments induced cognitive production on the object, process and structure level. (see Krippendorff's "Ecology of Artifacts"). The objects made in the project not only embody technical solutions. At the same time, they also materialize the mutual recognition of different actors and competences in a potentially open cooperation process. The implementation of sustainable and desirable future scenarios of work, producion and usage is not an automatism. It requires the constant designerly reflection of intermediate steps in a potentially incessible process of shaping new possibillitys of being. The project is designed as open design in the sense of a temporal and spatial openness based on the design.


Development of basic interlocking principles of internal stiffening structures by paper model.

Research team:

Prof. Elke Mathiebe, MA-Students: Jie Ding, Kuan-Ju Pan, Christoph Uckermark; Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft (HTW) Dresden

Research partners:

Integrative Design - - Essays and Projects on Design Research

Hydrofix


Ein offener, designorientierter Ansatz kennzeichnet das Kooperationsprojekt mit dem Arbeitstitel "Hydrofix". In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer IWU Dresden wurden Grundlagen für eine spezielle Form des Hochdruck-Innenumformens (HDU) entwickelt. Gleichzeitig sind designorientierte Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung sowie die daraus resultierenden neuen kulturellen Kontexte in Produktion und Nutzung selbst Gegenstand langfristiger Forschungsbemühungen.


Zuschnitte aus flachen Blechen werden durch Druckeinführung verbunden und gedehnt. Dieses kostengünstige Verfahren zur Herstellung von Zinnhohlkörpern bietet vielfältige Einsatzmöglichkeiten im Rahmen der dezentralen Fertigung und der digitalen Fertigung. In diesem Projekt wurden erste technologische Grundlagen für ein Prinzip der entfaltbaren, ineinandergreifenden inneren Versteifung entwickelt. Die experimentelle Formentwicklung und Modellierung mit einer Vielzahl von Materialien und Medien erwies sich als zweckmäßig, um einen Rahmen für die spätere Anwendung technischer Arbeitsmethoden und Innovationsmethoden (einschließlich numerischer Simulation) zu verbreiten. Basierend auf dieser designorientierten Entwicklung könnte eine Gruppe von Akteuren (Unternehmen, Forschungseinrichtungen, Privatpersonen) zusammengebracht werden, um Folgeprojekte zu verschiedenen Themen zu entwickeln, darunter: Design und technische Grundlagen für die digitale Produktion, Definition von Standards und Strukturklassen für unterschiedliche mechanische Anforderungen sowie Entwicklung und Veränderung von Kompetenzen und Rollen von Stakeholdern (Entwicklung, Produktion, Verwendung / Verbrauch). Diese Art von offenem Design hat ein einzigartiges Merkmal: Der Anfang und in frühen Phasen des Innovationsprozesses wird vom Design bestimmt, insbesondere von einem Materialprototyp, der einen ästhetischen Ansatz für technische Fragen verkörpert.


Der qualitative Entwicklungsschritt kann den Ansatz der beteiligten Akteure erweitern und erschließen - auf räumlicher, persönlicher, zeitlicher und methodischer Ebene. Die im Entwurf von Anfang an entwickelte Erweiterbarkeit und Durchführbarkeit schafft auch neue Sinnzwecke und Sinnstrukturen. Dieses Verfahren ist inhärent in den kognitiven Experimenten, die die kognitive Produktion auf Objekt-, Prozess- und Strukturebene induzieren. (Siehe Krippendorffs "Ökologie der Artefakte"). Die im Projekt angefertigten Objekte verkörpern nicht nur technische Lösungen. Gleichzeitig verwirklichen sie auch die gegenseitige Anerkennung verschiedener Akteure und Kompetenzen in einem möglicherweise offenen Kooperationsprozess. Die Umsetzung nachhaltiger und wünschenswerter Zukunftsszenarien für Arbeit, Produktion und Nutzung ist kein Automatismus. Es erfordert die ständige Designer-Reflexion von Zwischenschritten in einem möglicherweise unendlichen Prozess der Gestaltung neuer Möglichkeiten. Das Projekt ist als offenes Design im Sinne einer zeitlichen und räumlichen Offenheit konzipiert.


Model of a design variant made of laser-cutted plastic plates and cardboard.